Postcards from Des Moines, Iowa

9 Mar

My fiancee and I took a surprise and quite last-minute trip to the fantastic city of Des Moines, Iowa this past week. Yes, this is our second trip there in recent history (we also flew there in February). Des Moines is a cool city, but please don’t tell anyone. It is the kind of place that will surely be spoiled in 20 years by an influx of newcomers the way my fiancee tells me Seattle was in the early 1990s when he lived there. Here are some photos from our most recent trip, which was entirely too short, but absolutely grand and eventful. In case you didn’t know, Des Moines is French for “the monks.” I have no idea what that means.

Hello, DFW airport ceiling art. Nice to see you again!

Hello, Renaissance Savery Hotel. Nice to meet you! I see you were built in 1919 and on the Historic Hotels of America National Tust Historic Preservation List. Second hotel we’ve stayed at in the past two months that was on this list. Top drawer, my friend.

 

This is our view of my best friend, Christie’s famous gold PT Cruiser parked in front of the hotel. I get excited every time I see a gold PT Cruiser, even in other states where I know it can’t be Christie driving, but at first I always think it is her. Ha! Also, check out the beautiful light happening here. Iowa is full of gorgeous light and fresh air. Even in the middle of downtown.

I spent some time alone, just walking around the awesome skywalk (connects downtown through a series of hamster-like above ground glass tunnels, so you don’t have to go outside in the cold–genius). I wandered places I had not been since childhood. Capital Square and Kaleidoscope at the Hub…Younkers. Places where in the 1960s fashion shows were held and elevators were operated by uniformed men who would announce the floor aloud–ladies lingerie! Now you can ride the escalator or operate the elevator yourself (pity).

There does, however continue to be an abundance of spectacular revolving doors in the city and everywhere you look you’ll find things I think are wonderful and fine: old marble floors and walls, brass hardware, art deco typography.

There’s also lots of trees, nice shadows, a neato gold dome on the Capital Building, a famous umbrella “The Travelers” sign, which I have loved my whole life, and if that isn’t enough, a gigantic umbrella sculpture.

We had dinner at 801 Chop House (so fancy) and then walked back to our hotel with this lovely night view.

There is so much beauty to experience in this world, there really is. Not to mention direct flights with free wine. Life is a total YES right now, and I’m noticing that, I really am. Thank you world, you are so good to me.

All photos shown here were taken by me using instagram. If you’re so inclined, do follow me there @theboredalice

 

4 Responses to “Postcards from Des Moines, Iowa”

  1. Nanc Closson March 9, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Ashley I am so in love with Des Moines. I always tell Allie and my family that I could so live there. Its fabulous. –Nanc

    • Ashley Noelle March 9, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      It truly is! Please do move there, that would be rad!!

  2. Courtenay Bluebird March 11, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    I don’t think I’ve said this exactly this way, but can I tell you how much I admire your eye?

    You have a genuine natural knack for composition, color, and visual flow.

    I am seriously impressed, Ashley Noelle!

    Compelling work! Inspiring play!

  3. fivereflections March 17, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Ashley thanks for posting these photos

    David in Maine USA

Leave a Reply

